Hello stranger (Part 2)

tumblr_mhed3nYowe1rty1cso1_500_largeBlossom was already waiting for me when i arrived at the skybox – it was only later that i realised what that meant… she’d never been there before, and i’m sure that i’ve never sent her an LM – however, i was too mad with her for that to occur to me.

i told her to sit down and then i let her have it – both barrels – and full on. Poor girl didn’t have a chance to answer back: i was speaking so fast you could barely read it for all the typos! i demanded to know what was the idea of her putting it about that we were anything more than just friends, insisted she explain all the nonsense about how she ‘owed me everything’ and then took her to task over the mythical cottage by the sea, where we were supposed to hang out together and spend so much time in each other’s company.

Eventually, i calmed down and gave her an opportunity to speak, only to be horrified as prim tears started to roll down her cheeks.

“I’m so, so, sorry *sob*”,  she sobbed, “that’s not how things were supposed to work out at all! You’ve been such a good friend to me, ever since we met… you’ve put up with me hanging around all the time, and I know there must have been times when you’ve been sick of the sight of me, yet you’ve never pushed me away. I just want everyone to know how lovely you are and how much you’ve helped me, even though you never had to… and now it’s all gone wrong… everyone has the wrong idea and you hate me. *sniff*”.

Now i felt crappy, but there were still unanswered questions:

“Don’t be silly, Blossom. i don’t hate you at all… i was just a bit angry about the rumours that are going around. Speaking of which – what’s all this about a cottage?”

“Oh!”, she replied, “That was meant to be a surprise! Ummm, there’s something I’d like to show you, and then I’ll explain everything. Can I send you a TP?”

friend2_001i nodded and watched as she poofed, moments later she sent me a TP request to the Blake Sea. On arriving, i found myself in an old-fashioned English country garden belonging to a quaint, homely cottage; Blossom was stood in the doorway and invited me in, before giving me a guided tour of the little house. It was a lovely place, but by now i was completely bemused.

Sat in the front room on an old, comfy sofa, with views through the leaded windows over the colourful garden, Blossom rezzed a pot of tea, and explained:

“I wanted to do something to say ‘thank you’ for all you’ve done for me, and I remembered you saying that your ideal home would be a country cottage by the sea… so, this was my way of showing how much I appreciate you. I thought it could be a place for you to disappear to when you needed a break, and that maybe, if you didn’t mind, I could visit now and again for chats, and tea and things… but it seems that everybody – including you – has the wrong idea. I’m sorry, I should have asked first.”

It doesn’t happen often that i’m speechless, but on this occasion i found myself completely at a loss as to how to respond. i gathered my thoughts a moment, then – trying my very best not to hurt Blossom’s feelings, but also trying extremely hard to get my point across – i responded.

“The thing is, Blossom, the cottage is absolutely beautiful and i’m really very touched by your gesture… but it’s far too much – you don’t need to give me anything to thank me. Why don’t you live here instead, and i can come and visit you, whenever you want? As for all the other stuff, well, i’ll have a word with everyone and put the record straight, but surely you must understand why people have been talking?”

“There’s a couple of things that we need to sort out though… i love spending time with you, i really do, but i have other friends too and there’s things i like to do on my own sometimes. It’s not that i don’t want you around, but sometimes i need my personal space – so, maybe we could agree that we don’t always have to be in each other’s pockets? Y’know, it’s OK to say ‘hi’ when you see me log in, but we don’t always have to have a long conversation, and there’s no need for you to show me every single photo you take, or go to every club that you do… it’s fine for friends to be apart and be doing different things, you know? SL is just like rl: sometimes you don’t see friends for ages, and then when you do see each other, it’s always a lot more fun… Is that alright with you?”

My little speech was followed by a long, long, silence – i could tell that it hadn’t gone down too well, but then…

“I guess you’re right. I can be a bit intense, I suppose – I can’t help it, I’m sorry. I’m just a bit insecure but I’ll try my very best. And…

we are still bestest friends aren’t we?”

“Awww, of course we are! And now this silly misunderstanding is all cleared up, that’s not going to change! Hey, why don’t you get to work furnishing this place to suit you? It’ll keep you busy and give you plenty to tell me about when it’s done, and then, if you’re ‘at home’ tomorrow, how about i pop round for a cuppa and a chat, and maybe you can show me some photos too?”

Her reply was almost instant:

“Oooh, yes! What a great idea – let’s do that! I’m going to start furniture hunting straight away.”

i almost let slip my wholly inappropriate ‘Yay!’ gesture, but managed to stop myself just in time! Instead – breathing a heartfelt sigh of relief, and looking forward now to some peace and quiet – i passed her some LMs – “These should come in handy, they’re some of my favourite furniture stores”, and then i slipped her a wad of lindens. “Here you go – i feel bad about what’s happened, use these to cheer yourself up!”

i had to laugh – she did a double-backflip right there on the sofa – i got the impression that she was a lot happier now, and so was i!

Anyway, it was time i left her to it – we said our goodbyes, gave each other a big *hug* and i logged out.

Free, happy and off the hook… or so i thought!

(to be continued…)

People are strange when you’re a stranger 
Faces look ugly when you’re alone 
Women seem wicked when you’re unwanted
The Doors – People Are Strange

This entry was posted in Serial killers, SL, Unlikely stories. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you say?

