Total eclipse of the fun

eclipseYou’d think that, of all the days that have the potential to make me feel good, today would have been it… It’s been a lovely sunny day – the first day of Spring, no less – and if that wasn’t enough, today hosted one of those most esoteric of celestial spectacles, a near total solar eclipse. Better still, this trilogy of fortuosity is all neatly wrapped up and presented with a great big bow; holding everything together in the form of International Day of Happiness!

You’d think my cup would runneth over.

Except it has kind of runneth pretty much all over the floor, to congeal in an unappealing and disappointing puddle of morosity and gloom. (And, as if to prove a point that I really needed no further proof of, halfway through that last sentence my computer crashed spectacularly and horribly. Oh joy.)

Let’s start at the very beginning, shall we? I had a plan: Not a great plan, not exactly world-changing, but a plan nevertheless. The plan was to have a little lie-in and catch the eclipse from the perfect vantage point of my living room window, maybe even have a bash at grabbing a few photos. Work could wait – they owe me a shedload of time anyway – they could manage without me for a little while.

So much for the lie-in – the phone call from work rudely dragged me from bed at 7:00am, of course I ignored it, as I did the next 12 attempts at roughly 10 minute intervals! Trust me, nothing is that important, (it wasn’t). Steadfastly carrying on with the great plan, I threw open the window, expecting birdsong and the gentle sound of the wind in the tree branches opposite, only to be met with a cacophony of noise, courtesy of the local council gardeners mowing and strimming the playing fields within which said birds and trees reside. Now, to understand just how annoying this was, you have to realise that one of the most memorable aspects of the last eclipse I witnessed was hearing the weird and somewhat wonderful cessation of sound as the natural world decided night-time had come early, and it was time to go to birdy bed. Fat chance of that with the racket going on outdoors today… cue the phone ringing again!

attitude4_001Now a bit fed up, I decided the plan was doomed, so headed off to work deciding to enjoy the rapidly fading sunshine en route. When I say ‘work’, perhaps I should substitute the word ‘war’ instead – maybe the strange astral activities had triggered primal impulses of fight and flight into the minds of my darling charges, or maybe they just need to grow up and start acting like adults and do the work they’re being paid for – I don’t know, but trust me, there are times you can forget your fluffy management styles and emotional intelligence… tasers and emotional blackmail would make far more effective management tools! Much hard talking, home truths and drawing lines in the sand followed, but I’d rather spend an evening at Fight Club than go through another day in work like today, (although we don’t talk about Fight Club, ok?). No lunch. Late Finish.

Tonight, more than most nights, I need to escape to SL!

I need the irreverent, ribald humour, the laughter and the LOLs, the madness and the mayhem that abounds in SL to remind me that such things are the very essence of what makes life the rather cool place it really is. I need to be among friends and people who laugh and joke, to share in music and dancing, dressing-up and clowning around. In short, I need a good dose of fun, and that’s something I can – almost without fail – find in SL, without really looking. I need to be in a place where I can switch the lawnmowers off, turn the birdsong up, enjoy the first day of Spring every single day, and if I want an eclipse I can blooming well build my own, to enjoy at leisure, whenever I fancy it!

SL is my happy place, and despite the best efforts of that nasty old real world, I’m going to be happy too!

Happy Happiness Day everyone! 🙂

s.

Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do
Pharrell Williams – Happy
[A fiver to anyone who can spot me in the video!]

 

This entry was posted in Philosophicalisticality, Rants, RL, SL. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you say?

