Blogging Bytes – 1st March 2015

calliopeDon’t know if it’s a case of this writing lark being a little bit odd, or whether it’s writers that tend to be few pages short of a novel? Or it could just be me, being my usual rather strange self – you choose.

I’ve always held the belief that the very best fiction should tell a story, (yes I know that sort of defines what fiction is, but we’ve all read stuff that with the best will in the world, falls well short of that particular mark), and that it should be an emotional experience, both for the author and reader. I happen to feel exactly the same way about photography – if it doesn’t tell a story, and evokes no emotional response, it’s just pictures.

Maybe I am a bit weird… do other writers feel moved to tears when they read their own words?

This one made me cry – Alt. life: Calliope.

s. x

“Who are we? We find that we live on an insignificant planet of a humdrum star lost in a galaxy tucked away in some forgotten corner of a universe in which there are far more galaxies than people.”
Carl Sagan

This entry was posted in Alt. life:, Unlikely stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogging Bytes – 1st March 2015

  1. Paypabak Writer says:

    I have felt that way, yes. Maybe it’s the way I write. My characters start to live and I lose control over what goes on. Next thing I know, I’m feeling quite sad over their poor decisions or what happens. I also write non-fiction that makes me cry when I let myself be vulnerable. I lay it on Rheta Shan’s words: Reality is not about truth or physics. It’s about crafting a story so persuasive it will be taken at face value. This will sometimes invoke tears no matter who is writing it.

    • I like that quote, although it’s still unexpected to find oneself being persuaded by one’s own words.

      I do tend to get quite frustrated and intolerant at times with my characters, although that’s probably the outward workings of my own frustration and intolerance of my own shortcomings. This writing lark is just about scribbling down words, apparently.

      s. x

What do you say?

