Dreams & reality

dreamIt’s a Saturday post from me, which usually means there’s something just around the corner sufficiently noteworthy to persuade me to rouse myself from my weekend stupor and hammer out a few words on the trusty keyboard. Several somethings, in fact – the most important of which as far as you guys are concerned, is that tomorrow – Sunday 21st June, from noon SLT (20:00 BST… other timezones are available!) – the SL12B birthday celebration kicks off.

A week of live performances, music, discussion and talks, and two whole weeks to absorb the community vibe, explore the sims and marvel at the creativity of SL artists, builders and creators of all sorts, as well as discovering some of the many surprising things that SL people get up to. In my opinion, the quality of the exhibits this year has stepped up a gear, maybe because the building guidelines were a little more stringent than in previous years, and there’s certainly been more of a focus on creators using their own talents to produce their builds: I think the results are great. As for the event stages, once again the creators have made some mind blowing venues on a scale that takes your breath away… simply amazing.

The theme this year, ‘What Dreams May Come’,  is derived from Hamlet’s soliloquy – the famous “To be or not to be” speech, which of course later found itself featured in the visually stunning Robin Williams film of the same name. In my exhibit, my own take on the theme is expressed through the device of the dreamcatcher… in many ways this is the essence of SL: It captures our thoughts, ideas and dreams, distilling and channelling them, to come to eventual fruition in our imaginary, half-real; half-imagined virtual world.

full build2_001You’re invited along, not only to share in my virtual imaginings – ‘It is but a dream…’ – but also to explore the dreams of so many other creative souls to be found across the celebration regions.

As for me, ever the master of bad timing, I’ll be around for the opening ceremony but then I’m disappearing for three days, disconnecting from the Grid, the .net and from civilisation in general, as I slip off for a much-needed break far from the madding crowd, I’ll be staying in a yurt, in a forest and cooking over an open fire – no internet, no mobile phone, no electricity – and after a manic few months, I think I deserve a break. Consequently, I won’t be blogging for much of this coming week – although I may schedule a post at some point, so don’t think I’ve run away permanently, I will be back!

Actually, although it’s a bit annoying that this clashes with the start of SL12B, it comes at an extremely opportune time. Not only am I completely worn out and feeling a desperate need to recharge my batteries, but yesterday I was told I’d been successful for that j0b I mentioned a while back! So, when I return to work at the end of next week, it’ll be to a promotion, a whole new post and completely new territory – what the future holds, I don’t know, but in the meantime I’m just going to relax and ponder about what dreams may come…

It is but a dream...

It is but a dream…

s. x

To fight the unbeatable foe
To bear with unbearable sorrow
To run whew the brave dare not go
Carter U.S.M. – The Impossible Dream

This entry was posted in Builder's bum, Philosophicalisticality, RL, SL, SL12B. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreams & reality

  1. Paypabak Writer says:

    Congratulations on the new job and the great exhibit you’ve put up! I am clearly envious of the “retreat” you’ve taken. I love the idea of a yurt! They had a couple of those at a church camp in Saugatuck, MI years ago but I think they’re gone now. The Robin Williams movie was based on a novel by Richard Matheson.

What do you say?

