There’s a place

marmaladeIt’s been a long time now that I’ve been juggling prims – and, whilst I’m on the subject, I know we have the new-fangled Land Impact these days, but it’s just not convenient, or particularly accurate, to talk about LI other than in specific contexts, so I’ll just remain old school and talk about prims; we’re all friends and all know what I’m talking about, so let’s not get bogged down with semantics!

Prims are one of those things that you can never have too much of – back in the day, when I rented a small room, with a meagre 50 prim allowance, it was a constant battle to find furniture that was both economic in terms of cost and primmage. Many a hard decision was faced choosing between that ‘must have’ sofa but without the desirable accompanying soft furnishings, or something a little more basic, but with an option to make the place feel more homely – often it would end up as a straight choice between one or the other, or simply – in many cases – I just had to do without.

Later, I moved, upgraded and had the opportunity to splurge on a few more prims – it was fab! Then, joy of joys, when I acquired my first parcel of land, I was in prim heaven! How on earth would I ever even come close to using all that massive allowance of prims? Very easily, it turned out. It’s amazing how a few trees, a spot of landscaping and the odd achitectural feature can devour resources; and even with two subsequent land expansions, I was still finding myself in the position of having to remove fixtures just so that I had sufficient prims to undertake even the smallest building project. Such is the nature of things, and if you’re like me, and you find it hard to resist the allure of filling your SL space with lovely things, even the strongest willed of us can find ourselves running short on supplies.

strawberry field 1106015_001However, I’ve recently expanded again – not because I need more land – I don’t; and not because there was anything I specifically wanted to do with the space – if I’m honest, I don’t really know what to do with it. What I have gained with my latest acquisition however is 700+ spare prims, and that is something not to be sneezed at! Having scrimped and saved for so long just to scrape together the bare minimum of spare prims I need to get by, the luxury of being inundated with the the things is quite heady! True, I could live a little more frugally and pare back to save resources, but where’s the fun in that?

Best of all, I’m able to rez pretty much everything in my inventory – things that I’ve never been able to put on display before, because they’re just too prim hungry… then there’s all those irresistible items I’ve collected over the years that have never seen the light of day, purely because SL wouldn’t let me drag them from their folders – it’s great!

The danger, of course, is that I’ll fill the new parcel with stuff and end up back at square one – just as I did with my last extension, where I made the mistake of building a railway station, without which SerenRail just wouldn’t run, however I think I’ve learned my lesson. The new parcel will be a shifting, dreamlike state of temporary excursions into the imagination: Today it’s a fairground, by the time you read this perhaps it’ll be a spaceport or a racetrack. And, when the fever to build takes hold, I’ll clear the lot and enjoy the luxury of having my own 700 prim sandbox… At least, that’s the idea! With any luck, I’ll stick to it – and, if I don’t, I’ll only have myself to blame.

strawb3_001Whilst making an SL home, with everything you could possibly want from your dream setting: Trees, meadows, babbling brooks, a beach and your own little narrow gauge steam railway is very much living the virtual dream, I do think that sometimes we need empty space – a blank canvas – and all the materials we can grab hold of, if we are to continue to reap the benefits of the virtual world. A playground where anything is possible and where we can experiment, build things up and knock things down; a place as seen through kaleidoscope eyes, with your head in the clouds… which is why I’ve named it: Marmalade Skies.

Pop by, if you like!

s. x

Picture yourself in a boat on a river
With tangerine trees and marmalade skies
Somebody calls you, you answer quite slowly
A girl with kaleidoscope eyes
The Beatles – Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds

 

This entry was posted in Builder's bum, Philosophicalisticality, SL. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you say?

