Tap, tap, tap… Is this thing working?

backTesting, testing. Can you all hear me at the back?

Yes, it’s me – I’m back! All systems up, running and operational, although it’s going to take me a little while before I manage to settle back into any sort of routine, so please bear with me whilst I sort myself out. Posts are likely to be sporadic for the next couple of weeks – I have a million things to get sorted, and work is going to take me away from Basecamp Seren a fair bit too.

Anyway, it’s good to be back!

avid3_001What have I missed? Well, as far as I can make out, SL is still doing its thing in much the same way it always has; and, of course, whilst I’ve been kicking my heels client side, I’ve missed all the Hallowe’en festivities, which is a bit of a bummer, since I do like to dress up and enjoy a good party. Not that missing out is going to stop me dressing up anyway – I fully intend to go all witchy-poo for at least the next week or so… I laugh in the face of convention!

Elsewhere, the big news is that we’ve had our first sneaky, sneak preview of what we can might expect from Project Sansar. Sneaky because it’s not footage that the Lab are planning to release publicly, but if you’re going to show this kind of thing to an audience, somebody’s going to film it and publish it for you!

Looks pretty cool, huh? And usually this is something I’d get terribly excited about, however there’s reason to be wary. We’ve all seen those Linden Lab promotional videos, with smoothly animated, avatars interacting seamlessly in perfectly crafted environments…

Enough said.

The other big question that forms in my mind when I see those spaceships dodging around the Golden Gate Bridge, with all that fancy lighting and smooth framerates is: “Would it look anything like that on my computer?” – I’m pretty sure the answer to that one is “Probably not!” – So I’m just going to hang on for a bit and see what happens next year when, with any luck, we’ll be getting more than a sneak preview grabbed via someone’s mobile.

The other thing I really have missed is the company of my inworld friends. I can’t tell you how many times in the past couple of weeks, after a long day shifting boxes, moving furniture, wielding paintbrushes and falling off stepladders, I’ve collapsed into a chair and wished I could jump inworld and laugh off the aches, pains and tiredness in the company of my pals, and it’s been a frustrating time. When I finally did get my internet back, the best thing of all was the warm welcome I received from everyone – it was lovely. The worst thing, however, was realising I hadn’t changed my clothes for over a week! Thank goodness the virtual experience doesn’t extend to olfactory stimulus!

nye20139_001So, just a short one today, but I won’t go without touching on the date – for the past couple of years, November 5th has been something of a significant day for me in RL. I won’t go into the details, although one or two of my inworld friends will know the story, and as far as I’m concerned, it’s a day to celebrate, and of course the rest of the country just happens to be in a celebratory mood too. As I type this post, I’m watching the fireworks through my study window, and they look fab. I’m having my own virtual fireworks too – head off to Echo Beach at Nowhere Land if you’d like to enjoy the spectacle – I’ll leave them lighting up the sky until the weekend is over, and you’re more than welcome to come along.

s. x

The fireworks from the rooftops fall down around whole town
So tell it seems like so long since I’ve had you beside me here
We used to walk together
Gin Blossoms – Fireworks

This entry was posted in 2.0, Linden Love, RL, SL. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you say?

