Real or replicant?

voightReal or replicant
I’m really not so sure
Am I virtually me
Or do I have a fatal flaw?

Which one is real
and which one is not?
The me I see upon screen
or the me that sits to watch?

I think I know who I really am
But sometimes I get confused.
For each of me is different
yet with my character infused.

And what is me, anyway?
Is it mortal flesh and bone;
or is it something esoteric:
soul, and thoughts, alone?

Or is it what the others see,
all those who come my way?
But they will only see the one,
the other is far away.

And which of me is in control
and calling all the shots?
Does the physical dictate the rules
or the virtual cast the lots?

Are my choices solely mine to make
or am I led by fate:
Does virtual me lead the way,
or the other choose the path I take?

Confusion reigns, I just don’t know
which one of me to trust;
for one is real, that’s true enough,
the other fake. I’m nonplussed!

There’s only one thing for it:
I’ll have to take the test.
Whichever passes will be the one,
the other: dispossessed.

So, let us ask the question:
what does real life me choose to do?
I flip the tortoise over…
And virtual me turns turtle too!

And so it seems the only way
is the ultimate test to try:
We’ll only find out just who is real,
When it’s time, to die.

forest6_001

s. x

You know I’m born to lose, and gambling’s for fools,
But that’s the way I like it baby,
I don’t wanna live for ever
Motörhead – Ace of Spades

This entry was posted in Poetricity, RL, SL. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Real or replicant?

  1. Shauna Vella says:

    What I believe; the real Seren is a spirit that never dies. Both the physical and virtual are just temporary vehicles to get around in. Enjoyed reading!

What do you say?

