SL13But I’m nowhere near ready!

constructLong time readers of this blog, and those who know me, will be aware that I’m a firm supporter of the annual SL birthday celebrations. Indeed, I’ve been an exhibitor at every event since SL8B, I designed the official Time Capsule for the 9th celebration, and I’ve made a point of reviewing the birthday sims and all things celebratory every year.

This year, it seems to be a case of unlucky 13, I’m afraid. Earlier this week, I wrote about how little time I’m managing to get to be productive inworld, and that has had the effect of telescoping the time I thought I had available to commit to this year’s event quite dramatically. As was rapidly brought home to me Tuesday night when I logged in.

This year’s theme is ‘The Shared Adventure’, and my plan was to create an exhibit based around the SL world map, from which would spring a strand of virtual DNA… My thinking being that the world map is the source of all our adventuring, and adventures themselves form the very DNA of our virtual lives, (well, I thought it was clever anyway!). Those adventures being represented by numerous objects being spawned from my double helix… Rocket ships, animals, music, and so forth.

The DNA took a little longer to construct than expected, then work intervened, tiredness interfered, and life in general got in the way and, in short, when I finally got back to building at the beginning of this week, I knew time was running out… Just how quickly though hadn’t quite registered. It was only Tuesday evening that I logged in to the message that build inspections would take place on Wednesday, prior to the opening, this weekend!

Yikes! I hadn’t even started adding textures, let alone being anywhere near finishing the build!

‘Thrown together’ and ‘half finished’ are not generally expressions that I feel comfortable with when it comes to describing any of my builds, let alone anything that’s going to go on public display at a major inworld event, but unfortunately, on this occasion, time and fortune have conspired against me in such a manner as to leave me with little choice. I’m not happy with the results, but I have to live with them; at least I’ve got something up that approximates my original idea, even if it’s far from what I wanted it to be.

My contribution aside, as always I really think you should take the opportunity to pay a visit to the celebration sims once they open – it’s a great way to kill a few hours and to take the opportunity to appreciate the hard work that so many people put into celebrating SL’s thirteen successful years.

Just try to avoid my bit!

s. x

And if you go chasing rabbits
And you know you’re going to fall
Tell ’em a hookah-smoking caterpillar
Has given you the call
Jefferson Airplane – White Rabbit

This entry was posted in Builder's bum, Rants, RL, SL, SL13B. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you say?

