Birthday blues

partySo SL13B is up and running, and so far I’ve not done terribly well at getting to grips with it.

I missed the opening – I was asleep on the sofa at the time! When I did wake up, I had a visitor who stayed over, and when I finally did manage to log in, my experience was less than inspiring.

You just know things aren’t going well when the login screen says ‘Requesting region capabilities – 3rd attempt’, then when you do get in, your hair is attached to your hip. Still, I made the best of it and headed off to explore the exhibits. Well, I got as far as the sim boundary, at which point my avatar went on the unending walk of doom into the infinite distance, and I was unceremoniously dumped out of SL. My second and third attempts were, if anything, even less successful, and it was at that point I gave up, leaving it for another occasion when I’d have more time and patience.

I think it’s my PC, that’s the problem. SL13B probably isn’t any more laggy than previous celebrations or other inworld events of a similar size, it was more a case of my CPU running at close to 90% capacity, and my RAM usage hovering somewhere above 5 gigs. Time for a restart, methinks! It’s not an option I particularly like to take – I tend to leave the PC running 24/7, since I invariably get gremlins after shutting down, therefore I try not to, if at all possible. However the downside is that, over time, resources get hogged, things slow down and, inevitably, problems begin rearing their ugly heads as a result. A clean reboot usually puts things right, but I do try to avoid it until absolutely necessary. All being well, that simple expedient should sort out my SL13B woes and I can do some serious exploring.

Even with lag hassles, it’s not all doom and gloom – as an exhibitor, there are some things that make it all worthwhile. Every year I’ve had an unexpected message or two drop into my IM window, almost always from a complete stranger, with something positive to say about my build. To receive such a message is always a very positive and affirming thing that, in its way, makes the whole crazy thing worthwhile. I didn’t expect anything like that this year – I’m not happy with what I’ve put together and I think I could have done better. Nevertheless someone took the trouble to show their appreciation – and, I might add, not somebody who minces their words if they’re unimpressed – and that brought a smile to my face… Maybe it’s not so bad after all. Thanks!

Time, I think to put aside the birthday blues and start humming an altogether different tune… After all, nobody likes a party pooper!

s. x

It’s my party, and I’ll cry if I want to
Cry if I want to, cry if I want to
You would cry too if it happened to you
Lesley Gore – It’s My Party

This entry was posted in Rants, RL, SL, SL13B, Techietalk. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you say?

