Stupid o’clock

clockI’ve probably said it before, I’m not a morning person. Never have been, and I can’t see that ever changing. I am one of those for whom the snooze button was invented, but really shouldn’t have been, because it’s so often led to my downfall. I’m firmly of the opinion that even if I enjoyed getting out of bed nice and early to start the day, my body would fight back and insist that I stayed under the covers… I’m just not cut out for early starts.

It could be argued that this is because I am a fan of late nights… At a recent night out with some work colleagues I came to the realisation, in the early hours of the morning, that once again it was the hardcore of usual suspects who were sticking it out to the bitter end, and I was one of them. Everyone else with an ounce of common sense had left hours earlier.

I’m no better when I’m at home and have no excuse not to grab an early night, but I rarely do. It’s not unknown for me to start to do something that’s going to take me way beyond bedtime – such as writing a blog post – when the midnight hour looms; it’s often when I’m at my most productive, but I’m sure it’s not particularly normal!

‘Just go to bed earlier’, I hear you say, and I grant you that sounds an eminently sensible suggestion, unfortunately it makes no difference at all – I don’t sleep any more soundly, or wake with any greater verve and vitality; as I said, my body just isn’t built for early starts.

Besides, how would I find adequate time for SL?

Back in my early avatar life, a great many of my inworld friends were American – which in most cases meant that their evening was just starting as mine, theoretically, should have been drawing to a close. Consequently, I got into the habit of staying up even later than usual, just so I could spend time with virtual friends. These days, the vast majority of people I spend my time inworld with are Brits like me, which should logically lead to earlier nights, but actually it hasn’t made a whole lot of difference.

Persistence of Seren

Persistence of Seren

The problem is, there just aren’t enough hours in the day – and by that I mean, hours that are at my disposal to do whatever I want to do with them. My working day is such that regular and consistent finishing times are not the norm – ‘clocking off’ tends to happen sometime between 16.30 and 19.00, throw in a few overnights away from home, coupled with a complete lack of domestic foresight, and you have the makings of a somewhat chaotic lifestyle. I’m always running out of things, ranging from milk and sugar to shampoo and sellotape. Cue an unscheduled run to the supermarket and the loss of a chunk of downtime. The there’s the ‘necessary waste’: the essential tasks that aren’t – as far as I’m concerned – value-adding. Doing the washing, cooking my tea, painting the stairs… And, heaven forbid, a spot of ‘me time’, yes I occasionally like to watch the odd episode of ‘House’ or attempt to read a book. Suddenly, it’s past 10, and I still haven’t logged into SL.

I seem to have an increasing number of friends with whom my only interaction goes something like “Hi, how are you? Oh, just about to log off… Bye then!”, and I’m rapidly coming to the conclusion that I need to get my act together and sort myself out, however my options are limited.

Getting myself organised requires more time… So that’s not going to happen, I don’t have any extra time.

I can’t afford to exploit employ someone to do all the time consuming things that I’d rather not do myself, so that’s not an option either.

Neither can I afford to give up work, reduce my hours, nor do I have the inclination, energy or appetite to look for alternative employment.

And, if I have to give something up to gain more time, SL really isn’t in the frame as far as that’s concerned – you’re stuck with me, I’m afraid!

So, there’s only one thing for it: A live in partner, who’ll do all the housework, sort out my shopping, and assist with the garden and decorating. I’ll provide you with a bed and a room, but there’s no pay, no fringe benefits and definitely no hanky panky! Also, stay out of my way, don’t use the bathroom when I need it, (and no nasty smells either), don’t invite your friends around, and if I want the place to myself, I’ll expect you to clear off.

Any takers?

And those of you who keep wondering why I’m single will probably have now worked out why!

Or perhaps, I could just get up earlier in the mornings?

s. x

Tick tock
Tick tock
Tick tock
Tick tock
Gwen Stefani – What You Waiting For?

This entry was posted in Philosophicalisticality, Rants, RL, SL. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stupid o’clock

  1. Slate says:

    I KNEW one day we would end up living together x

What do you say?

