Renaissance

backLike most things, I suppose, the longer you associate with SL, the more likely it is that you’ll be unable to sustain the same level of interest in the platform constantly and consistently. The same is true of many aspects of our real lives: Our engagement with work, hobbies, interests and relationships is subject to wax and wane, no matter how committed to the cause we may be – that’s just the way things are. What once commanded our time and energy in the past may one day become less of a draw, and where once we might have braved hell and high water to pursue the object of our desire, now we may lack even the interest to consider spending time on it.

I’m not immune to such capriciousness and neither are the things in my life. When I look back over the years I see several endeavours that once filled most of my free time, and now for various reasons, never cross my path. That’s not to say that my reminiscences are not tinged with an element of regret – I miss some of the things I’ve given up; at the time they formed a massive part of my life and I owe much of who I am today to where I’ve been in the past, however, things change and some, inevitably, do not remain the same.

The same must be said of SL – in around six months, my association with the virtual world will have lasted 10 years, which in comparison with many of my other areas of interest in the past means I still have at least that long remaining inworld – so you’re probably stuck with me for some time to come, I’m afraid! Even so, my interest and commitment to SL over those years has varied, sometimes with good reason, whilst with no apparent cause at other times. In particular, the last year or so has seen my engagement wane.

I can identify some practical reasons behind my falling away from SL: A change of job and personal circumstances has certainly eroded the amount of time I can commit to inworld and associated activities. Maybe there’s also been a kind of ‘sympathetic withdrawal’ too – in the last year I’ve seen a number of SL friends disappear into the ether; a whole cohort of virtual world bloggers seem to have thrown in the towel, and inworld places and people seem to have moved on… It makes for a kinda lonely experience, even if it’s not really that tangible or real. Even so, there’s something more to it than that, something less defined – I just haven’t felt that connection quite as strongly as I once did.

kink2_001But… Suddenly I seem to be getting my mojo back!

Over the past few weeks, I’ve found myself getting up close and personal again with SL, like in the good old days. Things I’ve not done properly and wholeheartedly for ages, I’ve started to do again: Exploring, shopping, the odd hunt, and the silly, ridiculous things that for a while seemed have fallen into oblivion – the mad car races, daft games and juvenile behaviour – are all back with a vengeance, and I’m enjoying them too! Clothing that has languished unused and forgotten in my inventory for months has been dragged out and flaunted, and I have a feeling that the crazy hair will also be making an appearance soon!

I’m even thinking it’s about time that I started working on a new exhibition for the Gallery – well, it’s been at least a year since I had a change! – and, since I’m definitely spending a lot more time inworld, I should be able to spare some to sort it out.

Thankfully, it’s not just the inworld activities that have experienced something of a renaissance, outside the viewer I’ve been getting back up to speed too. For the first time in what seems like an eternity this blogging thing is starting to feel appealing again: There’s a huge difference between writing because you feel you have to, and writing because you feel you want to – and that’s a difference that expressed in other ways too, most posts in recent months have taken three hours and upwards to thrash out, whilst today’s flowed over the course of around 20 minutes.

Don’t ask me why, I don’t know and I’ve learned not to over-think things too much, I’d much rather go with the flow and see where it leads. The important thing, (at least I think it’s probably important), is that – for the time being, at least – I’m back!

tonk4_001

So, watch out!

s. x

Rewind the film once more
Turn back the pages of my post
Rewind the film once more
I want the world to see it all
Manic Street Preachers – Rewind The Film

This entry was posted in Philosophicalisticality, RL, SL. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you say?

