Hello World!

This month, within the space of a few days, I’ll be celebrating the anniversaries of me making my first appearance in both real and virtual worlds. To be honest, if I have things my way, both occasions will be something of a non-event.

Whilst I’m more than happy to celebrate and enjoy the rez days and birthdays of others, I’d rather that my own went unnoticed and passed by quietly without any fuss. It’s not that I don’t think that they’re momentous events – of course they are – it’s just that I’m not really bothered about doing anything out of the ordinary to mark the occasion.

Rez days are a bit weird anyway. Although I have a list of my friends’ rez days, most of the time I couldn’t for the life of me tell you when mine is – it’s only that I happened to be poking around my profile the other day that the date caught my eye. I’m not entirely sure that it’s the right date to be celebrating either: Although most people know me as Seren, this is not my first avatar, so which date is truly my rez day? If you have 20 alts, do you also get to enjoy 20 parties and rez day cakes?

As for my real birthday, there was a time when such things made me terribly excited. I used to love them, but as I’ve got older and lost contact with friends and family, they’ve tended to turn into rather quiet, even depressing affairs, and it’s not quite the same. This year is particularly weird – I’m feeling completely disengaged from the whole thing but – unusually – there are a bunch of people around me who want to make something of it, which frankly, is a pain in the butt! Don’t misunderstand me, it’s lovely that they do, it’s just not something I particularly want. It doesn’t help that, for the first time in years, I have a number of people around me that weren’t there in the past, and they all want to do something special for my birthday. All I want is a card and a quiet night in with a bottle of wine and my own company, but everyone seems determined to ensure that will be the last thing that is going to happen!

Am I being selfish? Maybe, but what’s the big deal anyway? It’s great that people want to make something of my ‘special day’, but surely if it is my special occasion, then it’s up to me how I want to treat it? In real terms there’s no particular reason why the anniversary of our coming into existence should be any different to every other day; I mean, what’s so special about being one year older? Why not celebrate surviving another month, another week, another day?

Actually, why not celebrate every day… We’re never guaranteed tomorrow, and we really should be making the most of every single one, and the same should apply whether we’re talking real world, or virtual. We should never just log in and mope around wondering why things are so boring and lacklustre… And I know people who do just that, in both lives! Surely the whole point is to get the most from every day, whether it’s birthday, rez day, Friday, or every day. Any day is good for a party, if you ask me!

s. x

These are the chronicles of life and death and everything between
These are the stories of our lives, as fictional as they may seem
You come in this world, and you go out just the same
Today could be the best day of your life
Good Charlotte – The Chronicles Of Life And Death

This entry was posted in Philosophicalisticality, RL, SL. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you say?

