Hoarders anonymous

Hi, my name is Seren, and I’m a hoarder.

As far as I can remember, I’ve been guilty of collecting ‘useful’ things, usually on the basis that ‘they’ll come in handy one day’, or simply because I can’t bear to throw them away. The end result tends to be a lot of boxes, stuffed in cupboards and every conceivable storage space crammed full of a vast array of things, many of which will never see the light of day again.

I’ve improved a lot over the years, mainly because there was a point at which the available storage space dwindled to practically nothing. At my worst though, it was a little bit crazy. At the time, I had a 4-bedroom house, with a large attic space, and for a few years, it was just me and a cat rattling around in all that space. My real weak spot was books – I had a range of books that would have put the average Blackwells to shame! The biggest bedroom, in fact, was my ‘reading room’/library… I had it set up with bookshelves on all 4 walls and additional shelving scattered around the room, with a big comfy armchair and coffee table right in the middle. There were more books in my study, which took up another bedroom, and… Erm there were 2 shelves in the attic, running the full length of the house on both sides of the roof space. I had a lot of books.

I had a lot of everything – stage lighting, sound equipment, a vast range of craft materials in absurd quantities, and the fateful day finally came, when it all had to go. I was moving home… Into a tiny one-bedroom cottage, which would be accommodating me, another person and two cats! You can imagine how traumatic I found the sort and sift.

Every since, my hoarding habit has become less of an issue… Except in SL, where I regret to say my habitual stockpiling is as bad as it ever was. My inventory is massive, and I’m very much afraid that there’s an awful lot of it that squarely falls into the category of ‘hoarded’, and is unlikely to ever see much use, if any at all.

However, it seems that when it comes to SL hoarding, I may actually not be as bad as I thought, in fact, when compared to some I’m a rank amateur!

A friend of mine has a penchant for playing a vending machine for free gifts at a local store. She plays regularly, although quite how regularly hadn’t quite registered with me. So when the topic of helping noobs cropped up, it transpired that she had a few items spare that she was happy to hand out… The box she then rezzed contained 50 sun hats, all neatly packaged up in separate boxes of 10. Then there were the 50 identical lava lamps, at which point she left slip that her alt had even more copies of the same items than her main avatar!

I found that quite astonishing – why would anyone want so many of the same item? I may be a bit of a hoarder, but I’m also pretty good at being ruthless when it comes to weeding out duplicates. The thought of collecting a vast number of identical items, then painstakingly boxing then up, before boxing up the boxes just gives me the screaming heebie-jeebies. I think I have a grand total of 2 boxes I’ve created for the purpose of organising my inv – one contains Christmas decorations and one is Halloween, and I don’t think I’ve opened either box since I created them. I simply can’t imagine being as organised or having any inclination to categorise, sort and save anything beyond those, and if I ever found myself even considering it, then it would almost certainly be time to start considering a big purge and consign the whole lot to the trash

I’ve always lived my life on the basis that there’s always going to be someone who’s better than me in any given field – it’s a good way of keeping a sense of perspective and never getting too big for your boots, but I’ve never really considered it in terms of the sort of things that we’d probably prefer not to boast about… I kinda like the fact that when it comes to hoarding, I’ve still got a long way to go!

s. x

Shed some skin for the fear within
Is starting to hurt me with everything
Manic Street Preachers – Everything Must Go

This entry was posted in Philosophicalisticality, RL, SL. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you say?

